Reporting Statistics

The Statistics dashboard allows you to report statistics collected from components during a simulation.

Open the Dashboard

The Statistics group contains the most commonly used commands for working with statistics.

Statistics opens the dashboard.

Print Chart(s) allows you to print one or all charts as a document.

Export Graph allows you to export all charts as either an Excel or CSV file. An Excel file will group each chart into its own sheet, for example 1 file for two charts. A CSV file will be created for each chart, for example 2 files for two charts.

Interval defines the global sampling rate for reporting Statistics behavior properties. This includes cumulative, interval and state-based statistics. The default is to report data every 60 seconds during simulation.  

By default, the Home tab will display the Statistics group on the Ribbon. To access the Statistics group in other contexts, you could add the entire group or its commands to the Quick Access Toolbar.

Choose a Layout

The Statistics dashboard divides content into separate tabs. Each tab uses a layout and grid system for organizing charts by columns and rows.

By default, an empty tab will display a view for choosing a layout. A layout defines how many charts and where they are placed in the view of that tab.

  1. Select a layout. This displays a preview of the layout in the side panel.
  2. Do one of the following:
    • Double-click the layout.
    • In the side panel, click Create.
  3. If you need to change the layout, click Change Layout and then repeat steps 1 and 2.

Note: Changing the layout will not remove charts unless you are switching to a layout with less placeholders.

Choose a Chart

By default, a placeholder without a chart will display options for adding a chart. You can either create a new chart from scratch or use a template. If you want to use a template, you must first select a component in the 3D world. Generally, the selected component must have a Statistics behavior or be the type of component required by the template.

Edit Chart Properties

A chart plots a data series or the values of a property in a component. A data series can contain data from multiple components that have a common property. A chart can plot more than one data series and have its own sampling interval. A sampling interval defines how often the value of a data series is plotted in a chart. By default, all charts use a global sampling interval.

A chart contains the following properties.

  • Name - Defines the name of the chart.
  • Legend Visibility - Displays the legend of the chart and its data series.
  • Title Visibility - Displays the title of the chart.
  • Sampling Interval - Defines the sampling interval of the chart for plotting its data series. A -1 value means the chart uses the global sampling interval.
  • Type - Defines the chart type.
  • Data Series - A set of properties for adding and editing data series in the chart.
    • Add Series - Creates a new data series.
    • Index - Indicates the order of the data series in the chart with additional options for deleting, collapsing and expanding the data series.
    • Name - Defines the name of the data series.
    • Components - Defines a list of one or more components in the 3D world referenced by the data series.
    • Property - Defines which property in the list of components whose value is reported by the data series. For more information, see Statistics. Supported property types: Real, integer.
    • Thickness - Defines the display thickness of the data series in the chart.

Plot Data

A chart will plot data when you run a simulation based on its sampling interval. If you reset and run a new simulation, data from the previous simulation will be cleared from all charts in the Statistics dashboard.

Note: A chart is a layout item, so charts can be saved with a layout. This does not include plotted data.

View Data

You can read, zoom in or out, pan and focus on data displayed in a chart. These actions, of course, depend on the chart type.

  1. Do one or more of the following:
    • To read the value of a data series in a chart, point at the data series to display a label.
    • To zoom in or out on a chart, point at the chart, and then rotate the mouse wheel forward to zoom in or backward to zoom out.

      Tip: On the scroll bar there is a button to reset the view of the chart. You can also use either end of the scroll box to expand or trim the view.
    • To pan a chart, use the arrows of the scroll bar or drag its scroll box. If no scroll bar is displayed, zoom in on the chart.
    • To focus on a range of data in a chart, point at the beginning or end of the range in the chart, and then drag the pointer to select and view that data.

You can print any chart in the Statistics dashboard.

  1. Open the Statistics dashboard.
  2. Do one of the following:
    • If you want to print one chart, select that chart.
    • If you want to print all charts in a tab, select that tab.
  3. Do one of the following:
    • On the Home tab, in the Statistics group, click Print Chart(s).
    • Click the File tab to go backstage, and then click Print, and then click Statistics Chart.
  4. Make any needed changes to print settings, and then do one of the following:
    • To print the file, click Print.
    • To export the file in an XPS format, click Export to XPS.

Export Data

Data plotted in charts can be exported to an Excel or CSV file.

  1. Open the Statistics dashboard.
  2. In the Statistics dashboard, select the tab containing the data you want to export to file.
  3. On the Home tab, in the Statistics group, click Export Graph, and then do one of the following:
    • To export data to an Excel file, click Export to Excel. Data from each chart will be stored in its own sheet in the Excel file.
    • To export data to a CSV file, click Export to CSV. Data from each chart will be stored in its own CSV file.